Owner & Operator 

IMG_2807.jpg

Credentials:  Early Learning 2 year Diploma, BA in Child Studies, FIRST AID & CPR C certified, BC ECE CERTIFICATE, BC SNE CERTIFICATE

Hello, I'm Jay! I'am a 28 year old wife & first time mama to the sweetest girl Aleia! My husband Barett & I have been married for 4 years. We moved to the Sunshine Coast from Calgary on the summer of 2014 to enjoy the beautiful west coast lifestyle. On my spare time I enjoy spending time with my family, friends, traveling, reading, skiing, yoga, cooking, attending fitness classes & exploring. 

I attended Mount Royal University in Calgary, Alberta where I have received a 2 year Diploma in Early Learning & Childcare Education as well as a Bachelor's Degree in Child Studies, graduating in the Dean's List in 2014. 

I have over 9 years of experience working with children from infancy to 20 years old in various roles & settings. I have worked in daycares & preschools obtaining both teaching & management position, child & youth treatment centre working with children with mental & behavioural disorders. I have also had the pleasure of working at the Mount Royal University Child Development Research Lab partaking in the Active Play and Physical Literacy Everyday model that focused on the importance of physical literacy needs in preschoolers as well as assisted on a published research on Active Play. Furthermore, I have over 5 years of experience working with medically fragile children & children with special needs, more recently at a private school in Calgary. 

 

Facetune_15-05-2018-23-41-33.JPG
28279263_10156179157137292_7899867274052285755_n.jpg

Runninga and owning my own centre has always been a dream of mine. After exploring different roles in different professional settings working with young children to young adults, I realized that my love for children & my passion for education is where my heart is at. After having my daughter it then occurred to me that I can put my dream into a reality while being able to watch my own child grow! Bright Beginnings would allow me to be able to raise my daughter while providing a caring & educational environment for other children to grow & learn at. My overall goal is to apply 8 years of my experience & education to provide a high quality & educational childcare experience to help raise happy & healthy children.